Overcoming Fear….Let’s Start Living!

A-journey-of-a-thousand-miles-begins-with-a-singl-step

18 years ago I had a really profound shift in my life.  It was a time when I really owned the concept of “creating my own reality”.  Little did I know, just what that meant.

I had ended a 7 year relationship and I found myself in the middle of a spiritual awakening.  My world was profoundly different.  I became a light worker.  I experienced many personal and profound understandings, including healing my body, having holographic experiences in my sleep, being filled with light, and learning about energy which ultimately brought my own gifts as a healer.  

This is also the time when I took the name Shakti.  I definitely experienced my truth.  I’m sure some would call it a ‘Phoenix Rising’.  It was a remarkable time for sure, and at the same time, at 27 years old, I was also new to all of it.  I was living in a new city at the time (due to a recent move) and without many friends, I was feeling very isolated and alone.

It all came so suddenly actually.  I had gone to a very special place in California which brought one experience after another….almost as if I was on a lightning track speed and everything moved faster than the speed of light.  After a week of what felt like a year and one of the most incredible transformations I had ever had, I found myself back home having more “new” things happening to me.  It pushed me into a severe paralysis of feeling frozen in fear for 2 weeks.    

In retrospect,  it all makes sense to me now.  I really did lack wisdom and I can see just how confused I really was.  To be aware of such profound truths and completely frozen and incapable of moving forward at the same time.  I didn’t enjoy it at all.  I didn’t know what to do.

 And then something happened.  The best advice I have ever been given at such a time was from a friend in Arizona.  I reached out and shared what was happening to me.  I am so grateful that I was able to ‘ASK FOR HELP’.  It was advice I never would have thought of.  I shared my fear state and how frozen I was.  I literally could not do anything for 2 weeks.  

He suggested whatever I do, do it backwards.  If I were driving to the store, go a different route.  If I were walking the dog, go left if I usually went right.  WHATEVER, I did, do it the opposite for everything.

 In 3 days, I came out of this intense period.  I was a different person.  Perhaps I was like a butterfly in my cocoon and morphed into a whole new life.  For it really was a new beginning.  I was told that my electromagnetic field was transformed and that I would start attracting different from what I had been attracting.  I believe it.  For it was 3 days after breaking out of this frozen state that I met my now husband.

 I had been invited to a mandala making party.  I didn’t even know what mandalas were at the time!  There were 150 people and it was at the moment I asked the leader of this workshop a question that he knew we were meant to meet.  I spent 3 days going back and forth about whether or not I should go to this party because of how vulnerable I was.  I said yes and no a dozen times all day long back and forth….finally saying YES.  I will go!  We have been together for 17 years and just had our 14 year anniversary in August.  

I am sharing this story to show that ‘BECAUSE’ I reached out and asked for help, I was given what I needed.  All to often, the embarrassment and shame holding us back to reach out for help prevents any movement from happening. 

The fear suffocates us, isolates us and keeps us hiding.  We can never become different, authentic or more of our glory if we remain stuck, frozen, trapped and insignificant in our lives.  

images

We will never become who we are meant to be UNLESS we take a step into courage and a step into vulnerability.  Reaching out, asking for help, being honest with ourselves is one of the bravest moment in our lives.

I am asking all of you who are in this situation, to be brave “enough”.

Be the Hero in your own life.

Be willing to ask for help so you may find a way to feel joy, love and happiness.  Hiding has served a purpose.  Fear has served you.  NOW, STEP INTO YOUR NEW LIFE and ask yourself “What is your positive intention with hiding”.  Bless this part of you.  Thank it for serving you so well.

AND NOW…

Let’s Start Living!

Walk your dreams, Walk your passions~

And step into life and become who you have always meant to be.

quote gallery4

5 thoughts on “Overcoming Fear….Let’s Start Living!

  1. Eric, I have found through the birth of my first son, when I was at my worst…I was at my most embarrassed to ask for help. Circumstances are always different and I have learned what I need to do to ask. I have to ask before I get to THAT place, because it taught me how much I don’t do it. I’ve also changed my thoughts to “needing help” to “having help” which changes how things unfold. I believe I have learned some very valuable lessons this year. 🙂 I’m very grateful though, for reaching out when I was 27. I actually had called my dad that year (after I had the car accident, 5 moves, homeless experience (another story to tell) and told him how afraid I was. His response was “Your 27 years old, what do you have to be afraid of?” That was the last time I talked to him for 1 1/2years. I can see now, that I triggered something for him, but then…still lacked a lot of wisdom.

  2. Shakti, this is….wow, i am almost in tears. Deeply moving and so so inspiring! Thank YOU for sharing this. This is very special to read. “Be the Hero in your own life.” what a beautiful message and you’re certainly a beautiful role model in that. God bless! xx

  3. Thank you for sharing Shakti!
    As you say, changing your thoughts from “needing help” to “having help” is the key;)

Comments are closed.