St. Nicholas Day

St Nicholas Day

Yesterday upon leaving my sons childcare, there was a trail of carrots and celery for a horse to come for a treat.  Today my 2 1/2 year old was visited by St. Nicholas and this is the story that his dear caregiver told.  I found it very touching that I thought I’d spread the sweetness on to you.  I did have a photo of my sons slippers with an orange and a golden walnut, however I did a stupid thing this morning.  I accidentally placed the SDcard into the cd slot on my computer.  Boohoo….  and can’t retrieve it without bringing my computer in to get fixed.  It was one of those moments as I saw it slip out of my fingers….and into the wrong spot.

I do hope you enjoy this.  I found it a worthy read.

There was once a good and very kind man called Bishop Nicholas.  He lived in a place far from here.  Kind Bishop Nicholas was especially fond of little children and loved to help them however he could.  One day Kind Bishop Nicholas heard that there was a town where the people did not have enough to eat, even the dear little children.  This saddened him very much so do you know what he did?  Well, he gathered a very large basket and filled it with all sorts of good things to eat.  Apples, pears and oranges and lots of lovely nuts and bags of good flour to make bread with.  Then he called for his strong and beautiful white horse and he loaded the basket on his horse and rode to the town where the people were very hungry.  It was far away and he had to ride for many days.  When at last he arrived it was getting dark and he silently went to the first house and placed fruit, nuts and a bag of good flour on the door step. Then he knocked on the door and rode quietly away. When the little child who lived there opened the door she did not see Kind Bishop Nicholas but what she did see was all the lovely food.  She called to her mother to come and see.  How surprised and grateful they were.  They took the food into their house and they always had enough food to eat after that.  Kind Bishop Nicholas brought food to every house in the town until everyone had enough to eat and then he rode his beautiful white horse back home.

Every year on his birthday Kind Bishop Nicholas once again rides his beautiful white horse from house to house putting good things to eat in the little children’s shoes.  There are many, many towns to visit and so where Kind Bishop Nicholas cannot go he sends one of his many wonderful helpers to go for him. This day we shall put some carrots out for his strong and beautiful white horse and tomorrow morning we shall peep in our slippers to see if indeed he came to our house in the night.

Snip, snap, snout my tale’s told out.

2 thoughts on “St. Nicholas Day

Comments are closed.