The Gift of Grace

Ice_Crystal_by_Shortgreenpigg

“A wise woman recognizes when her life is out of balance and summons the courage to act to correct it, she knows the meaning of true generosity, happiness is the reward for a life lived in harmony, with a courage and grace.”

Suze Orman

 

It is a season of crazy busy for everyone around me.  I myself have stopped writing the to do list because it overwhelms me just thinking about all the things to do.  For many of us, we are fighting internally with the need to slow down, but how?  How, when everything and everyone around us have expectations?

Family, coworkers, schools, friends, and our children all have some kind of expectation from us.  Because the imbalance is so out of balance for this month, we need to ask for grace into our life.

So I am offering a gift of grace to all my readers.  I am giving you permission to set healthy boundaries.  I am giving you permission to say no.  I am giving you permission to do only that which feels right inside.  That which “only someone who loves themselves would do”.  I am telling you that you “not doing something” will not end the world.  I say this because I am spending 30% more of my energy into “saving the day”.  And the only reason that I say yes, is because I know that others will not step up to the plate.  So I have to either allow there to be those “holes” or to accept that things will go differently.  Not only is this necessary for me, but I am beginning to see it’s not an option.

However, the “HOW TO” part isn’t so easy.  Words come out of my mouth to say, ‘yes’ I can help before I get to see what just backfired on me.  So, with this gift that I am offering to you, I am offering it to myself as well.

I will say this to you as well.  “It’s not an option” if your plate is beyond full.  Just this morning, a working mom friend of mine with 3 kids said to me that “some days it’s working and other days it’s not, I just want to cry.”  Then she told me that everyone at her work is depressed because we are just all taking on too much.  This is not healthy.  When did perpetual business seep so deep that the entire culture thinks it’s ok to be so out of balance.  For us it begins at Halloween and goes through till Christmas.  I need running shoes…….to catch up with my list.

 Today, take a moment to breathe and say, “I’m sorry, please forgive me, I love you and all is well.”  Repeat it as often as necessary and then take a breath and ask “Where can I let go of some control?”  Where can I take 15 min to breathe, and do nothing else.  Allow yourself to be inspired.  Allow yourself some time to decide what your expectations are for family so you can set healthy boundaries.   If you don’t, it’s possible  that you might be setting yourself up for those moments that are only bringing further imbalance into your life.

Make this part of your self-care for today.  We all need grace today.  Allow that forgiveness to wash over you like a warm breeze on a summer day.  Slow down, take a breath and say “All is well.”

xoxo,  Shakti

ps- and remember to eat.  🙂