The Hidden Secrets of Risk Taking

“Success doesn’t tell us how rich we are, it only tells us how willing we are to show up.”

 

Last week I had a dream that revealed to me some hidden secrets of taking risks. What really surprised me was how quickly I was able to process the dream and work it out, and then watch how the Universe delivered an opportunity for me to really look at what risk taking is all about for me.

In my dream, there was a large investment that someone was selling in order to buy another business. A friend of mine had a million dollar business and she was selling hers to buy a different one. In the dream (after much story), I actually heard the question, Do you consider yourself to be a risk taker?

Before you jump to your answer I want to shed light on what isn’t so obvious for my answer.  My original answer was no.

Here’s why.  First define what level of a risk taker you are?  If you think you aren’t, look in your life where you are successful at taking risks, even if they are small because you can build on them (taking trips, driving, saying yes when you are uncomfortable with the unknown).  All these reflect many levels of being a risk taker.  If your definition of “highly successful” and risk taker are about investments in money only, then here’s a window to open and see just how much money has nothing to do with success.

For me, success is another delusion of risk taking.  It is a trap we fall into.   What is it that you are trying to succeed at? All important questions.  In my article I wrote called,  The Power of Failure: We get to decide what it means, I share many different perspectives of success and failure.

Success doesn’t tell us how rich we are, it only tells us how willing we are to show up.

So do you consider yourself to be confident with your decisions? Or do you get caught in the trap “What if I’m wrong?”. This “what if I’m wrong” has been a major obstacle for me to over come when it comes from “small risks” to “big risks”. Because for me I could see that small risks are fine, but when it came to bigger ones I finally got to understand what “being wrong” really meant. It was not as painful as a tooth extraction, but it was close enough. When faced with my honesty of why I am so triggered with “What if I’m wrong?”, I was able to decode it and bring the charge out in the open. For me, the trigger was “Being wrong is dangerous”. My family (particularly my dad) did a number in my head about what happened when I was caught in a situation of one kind or another. After really seeing that I could find areas in my life where “Being wrong wasn’t dangerous” I was able to see that it is just a belief I have been carrying. Freeing myself of this belief is how transformation takes place. It is literally what changes our external world inviting more and more mini miracles into your life.

My hopes is that if you don’t consider yourself to be a risk taker, that you look at the reasons why.  The hidden obstacles are a possible trap keeping you from living the life you want or you don’t realize that you are a risk taker because you might be basing it on monetary success.  Either way, I hope you find value in this.

Please leave a comment about how taking risks in your life have been successful or how they have hindered you from doing what you love.

As always, please share on Facebook, Pinterest or Twitter.

Shakti Chionis

Miracles and More

Look soon for my prelaunch with Precious Gifts!  It’s here and as soon as I get word from my publisher that global distribution is complete, it is ready to buy!  Yay…. 🙂